A Simplified Version of the Eightfold Path.

The Buddha left us a set of guidelines for us to follow on the path to be free from suffering. Here is a simple explanation of that set of guidelines.

The Eightfold Path

1. Right Understanding: To keep ourselves free of prejudice and superstition, and to see the true nature of life.

 2. Right Thought: To turn our minds away from the violence and hatred in this world and work on focusing on the positive.

 3. Right Speech: To refrain from harmful talk and to use our words wisely.

 4. Right Action: To see that our deeds come from peace and goodwill. To grow every day in the Buddha’s Teachings.

 5. Right Livelihood: To try to earn our living in such a way that we avoid harming ourselves and others.

 6. Right Effort: To use our energies to promote the overcoming ignorance and destructive desires.

 7. Right Mindfulness: To cherish a good mind and be attentive.

 8. Right Concentration: To practice meditation and cultivate awareness. 


About Daniel Scharpenburg

Daniel Scharpenburg is an independent dharma teacher living in Kansas City. He gives online teachings through the Open Heart Project, the largest virtual mindfulness community in the world. His writing has appeared in Lion's Roar, Patheos, Tattooed Buddha, and Elephant Journal.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s