Empty Cloud Zen Lineage

Founder: Xu Yun

1st Generation – Charles Luk

2nd Generation = Richard Hunn

3rd Generation = Adrian Chan-Wyles

4th Generation = Daniel Scharpenburg



I received teaching in the Caodong Lineage of Master Xu Yun through the letter writing tradition. Xu Yun held all five Ch’an lineages and passed them to different students in different ways. I was passed the Caodong lineage, which teachers through the methods of Silent Illumination and Hua Tou.

I was declared a lineage holder in 2016. I was given the name Ming Kong, Bright Emptiness.

In addition to this I have received Bodhisattva Vows in both the Nagarjuna lineage of Profound Emptiness and the Asanga lineage of Vast Conduct.